Karachi Public Transport Society (KPTS)

Karachi Public Transport Society (KPTS)

  • KPTS was estabished in 1997 after closure of KTC.
  • It is registered under Social Welfare (Registration and Control) Ordinance 1961.
  • A government NGO with public private partnership.
  • It has equal representation of senior citizens, transporters and government.
  • KPTS offers intra city routes formerly operated by KTC.
  • Deregulated fare but to be controlled by Governing Body of KPTS.
  • Transporters join the society and induct new and refurbished transport.
  • They are required to abide by the rules which emphasize:
    • No over-loading and no over-charging
    • No stopping at non-designated stops
    • No over speeding
  • 260 Coaches/Minibuses plying under the scheme.


1. Secretary Transport, Government of Sindh (Chairman)
2. DCO, CDGK  Co-Chairman  
3. DIG (Traffic) City Police Vice Chairman
4. Secretary DRTA  General Secretary
5. Secretary PTA  Treasurer
6. Director General KMTC  Member
7. Director Social Welfare  Member
8. Executive District Officer T&C, CDGK. Member


1. Mr. Sharfuddin Memon  Chief CPLC
2. Brig (Retd) S.S.A Qasim Hon. Secretary CIT
3. Mr. Imran Saeed Baghpati Rep KCCI
4. Mr. Arif Hassan Chairman Urban Resources Centre
5. Mr. Semi Mustafa Traffic Management Program
6. Mr. Ejaz Nasir (Journalist)  Rep. PPI
7. Mr. Irshad Hussain Bukhari  President KTI


1. Mr. Salim Godil (Europe Car) "Metro Radio Cab Service
2. Mr. Noor Badshah Swat Coach Service (9c Shuttle)
3. Mr. Mukhtar Bajwa    United Metro Transport Service
4. Mr. Muhammad Ishaque  IHZ Metro
5. Mr. Asad Hussain Faruqui City Lemousince "Star Radio Cab Service"
6. Mr. Muhammad Zohaib Brohi Smart Radio Cab Service
7. Mr. Saad S. Fariqui   Heriz Optimus Ltd "Red Top Cab Service"
8. Mr. Sajjad Hussain  Mono Radio Cab Service